Trustees Approve North Oaks Middle School Principal


At a special called meeting, Birdville ISD’s Board of Trustees approved Jennifer M. Klaerner, Ph.D., as principal of North Oaks Middle School. She is replacing Bob Koerner, Ed.D., who recently took a position with another district.

Klaerner began her career in 2006 as a math teacher at Haltom High School. She then became the campus testing coordinator from 2009–2012, and most recently, the dean of instruction from 2012 to present.

She earned her bachelor’s degree from Texas A&M University, master’s degree from Dallas Baptist University, and doctorate from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP): Seventh-Grade Talent Search


Duke University Talent Identification Program (Duke TIP) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving academically gifted and talented students. Duke TIP works with students, their families, and educators to identify, recognize, challenge, engage, and help students reach their highest potential. Now in its 36th year, the seventh-grade talent search identifies bright seventh-graders based on standardized test scores achieved while attending elementary or middle school. Candidates are invited to take the ACT or the SAT college entrance exams as seventh-graders, which allows them greater insight into their academic abilities. In addition, they gain valuable benefits and have access to unique resources for gifted students.

The following Birdville ISD students qualified for state recognition by scoring at or above the national average of recent high school graduates on at least one part of the ACT or the SAT.

  • Luis Gonzalez, Haltom Middle School
  • Joshua Grantham, North Richland Middle School
  • Erin Powell, North Richland Middle School
  • Mercedes Wacks, North Richland Middle School
  • Trayson Sosa, North Oaks Middle School
  • Fiona Burleson, Smithfield Middle School
  • Ethan Harrah, Smithfield Middle School
  • Kyle Nimon, Smithfield Middle School
  • William Thorne, Smithfield Middle School
  • Trinity Vaughn, Smithfield Middle School
  • Alexander Anderson, North Ridge Middle School
  • Jackson Keefe, North Ridge Middle School
  • Solyn Tidwell, North Ridge Middle School
  • Meredith Turner, North Ridge Middle School

The following Birdville ISD students scored high enough to qualify for grand recognition. Students who qualify at the grand level scored approximately at or better than 90 percent of recent high school graduates on at least one part of the ACT or the SAT. These students are invited to a special recognition ceremony at Duke University. Only about three percent of all the participants in the talent search qualify for grand recognition. This is quite an achievement!

  • Eva Kuderer, Smithfield Middle School
  • Kyle Settelmaier, Smithfield Middle School

Middle School Artists Succeed at Junior VASE Competition


Congratulations to all seven BISD middle school art departments for their participation in this year’s Junior VASE (Visual Art Scholastic Event). With more than 1,300 entries from students across multiple districts, BISD had 177 young artists enter 235 artworks for adjudication. Over 75 percent of BISD artworks received a “Superior” rating, with 15 pieces gaining special recognition as Silver Medal winners. Silver Medal winners were:

  • Julia Nguyen – Haltom Middle School
  • Morgan Layfield & Mary Ho – North Richland Middle School
  • Jonathan Pinch – Richland Middle School
  • Mandi Inthalangsy – North Oaks Middle School
  • Kayla Meyers & Aleyna Holcombe – Watauga Middle School
  • Gracyn Conniff, Lauren McMahon, Kairi Merriam, Lauren Moore, Kaylee Rademacher (two pieces), and Yaidmaris Ramos – Smithfield Middle Schoolx
  • Idalyis Bunyavong – North Ridge Middle School

North Oaks Students Named Finalists for Bobby Bragan Scholarship

Congratulations to Austin Sundara, eighth-grade student at North Oaks Middle School, for being named a finalist in the Bobby Bragan Scholarship Essay Contest. He will receive a $2,500 scholarship from the Foundation when he graduates from high school.

> Read Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Announcement

Middle School Band Members Excel at Region Auditions


Congratulations to BISD’s middle school band members that auditioned for placement in the Region 5 middle school region bands. Competing against students from the Mansfield and Arlington school districts, BISD placed almost 100 students in one of the two region bands. These students will perform on Dec. 5 at the Willie Pigg Auditorium in Mansfield ISD.

Region 5 Middle School Band 1

  • Haltom MS:  Matthew Azua, Mateo Deleon, Julia Nguyen, Joseph Nguyen, John Pham, Perla Picon, Madison Sliavongsa and Leonardo Velasquez
  • North Oaks MS:  Ayana Anaya, Alexis Halik, Kevin Le, Hayden Merriman, Chloe Jean Rey, Austin Sundara and Brandon Vu
  • North Richland MSTai Ha, Zoe Harris, Isaiah Knight, Morgan Layfield, Aiden Mata, Elizabeth Mey and Joshua Walz
  • North Ridge MS:  Cole Brown, Ali Gleaves and Josue Martinez
  • Richland MS:  Jacob Fritts, Matthew Fritts, Michelle Galan, Zach Hocker, Laisha Luna, Pedro Medrano, Imanol Ortiz, Gino Pellittieri, Tori Perrin, Mason Rushing, Darryn Salinas, Alyse Stiles, Ben Streeter, Davon Taylor, Catherine Tran and Jasmine Tuetkin
  • Smithfield MS:  Abby Bouchelle, Parker Boyd, Kaylee Rademacher, Jonathan Schirmer, Parker Visage and Greg Ybarra
  • Watauga MS:  Noah Strickland and Andru Wilson

Region 5 Middle School Band 2

  • Haltom MS:  Angel Beltran, Eric Delgadillo, Obed Gonzalez, Travis Visounnaraj and Manuel Govea (alternate)
  • North Oaks MS:  Alyson Grow, Hania Mirza, Sydney Seig and Briana Hacksisombath (alternate)
  • North Richland MS: Michael Britt, Madeline Harris, Sarah Hill, Schuyler Moreno, Steven Nguyen and Julianna Thompson
  • North Ridge MS:  David Beavers, Haley Compton, Cameron Fielding, Chanel Finnikin, Aaron Gieder, Joel Polk, Anthony Rodriguez, Lindsey Wheeler and Marisa Perez (alternate)
  • Richland MS:   Isaiah Aponte, Ana Carranza, Ana Juarez, Damon Lewis, Diego Lozano, Jocelyn Renteria, Matthew Tolbert, Daisy Amaro (alternate) and Javier Cruz (alternate)
  • Smithfield MS:  Cassidy Burris, Rhett Howe, Amie Johnson, Evan Pallanes; Alternates: Lauren Eastman and Lane Henyan
  • Watauga MS:  Alaynna Barkley, Anthony Barrett, Patricia Roberts, Alexis Terrazas and Andrea Phillips (alternate)Bold denotes First chair