BISD’s 2019 First-Year Teacher of the Year Announced

BISD Superintendent Dr. Darrell Brown announced on Friday, April 5 that Annabel Hodgson, fourth-grade teacher, was Birdville ISD’s 2019 First-Year Teacher of the Year. 

Ms. Hodgson will be honored along with the District’s 33 campus teachers of the year at the District’s 2019 Golden Gala on May 2.

View pictures from the announcement (opens in a new window)

Automotive Technology Students Win Universal Technical Institute Top Tech Challenge

Birdville ISD’s automotive technology students placed first for the third consecutive year at the Universal Technical Institute (UTI) Top Tech Challenge. Christian Reich and Matthew Blackwell placed first and received $10,000 each in scholarships and electrical multimeters valued at $250 each. Lane Freach and Ruperto Rios placed 10th and received $1,000 each in scholarships. The Automotive Technology program won a toolbox and tools valued at $4,228.75.

Pictured from left to right are Leonel Guerca, Christian Reich, Matthew Blackwell, Lane Freach, Jonathan Lomeli, Kaleb Rogers and Ruperto Rios.

BISD’s Auto Technology teachers are Olin Harrington, Jesse Hackfeld and Aaron Lescalleet.

BHS Girls Basketball Team Awards

Congratulations to the Birdville High Lady Hawks girls basketball team for a great season.

District 7-5A Awards

  • District Champs Birdville Lady Hawks 
  • District 7-5A MVP: Iyana Dorsey
  • 1st Team: Rylie Riddle, Aimee Campbell 
  • 2nd Team: Joy Johnson, Maya Duckworth
  • Honorable Mention: Lauren Wheeler, Kelsey Dominguez
  • Coach of the Year District 7-5A: Amy Ingram