Haltom City Community Projects Manager Presents Donation to Haltom High Band #BISDShines


Recently at the Haltom City Carfest, Julie Orebaugh, Haltom City community projects manager, presented a certificate to the Haltom High band along with a promised donation of $2,000 to help meet the band’s financial needs. Orebaugh said, “I’m so happy to give the $2,000 donation because you and your band have been so generous with your time for city events and functions. It’s a token of our appreciation, and the City wants to support your program and the impact the arts have on the students of Haltom City.” The Haltom High band has become a regular participant in Christmas on Broadway, Carfest, art shows, the Haltom City Fire/Rescue Banquet and other community events.

Congratulations to Haltom High School Students Dell Stevens and Dylan Walker

Congratulations to Dell Stevens and Dylan Walker, both Haltom High School students, for winning the Circle Theatre Playwriting Contest. (More than 100 plays are submitted annually.) Dylan’s play, “Lovers on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown,” is one of four finalists who will have a professional play reading at Circle Theatre on May 7 at 3 p.m. The event is open to the public and is free. Dell’s play, “Man of Three Shadows,” is one of five semi-finalists. Both writers will receive cash prizes, tickets to an area theatre, and time to visit with producers, directors and actors. Dylan will have a scholarship from Texas Wesleyan Theatre waiting for him upon graduation. Haltom Theatre will have a staged reading in May to honor these students and their success. Dylan and Dell join a long line of successful playwrights from Haltom High School. Students study playwriting in Theatre II each year.

Haltom High School’s Lady Buffalos Basketball Team Playoff Information

HHS logo

Haltom High School’s Lady Buffalos basketball team will play Abilene High School on Friday, Feb. 10 in Stephenville to determine the fourth-place playoff representative for District 3-6A.

Site: Stephenville High School

Date: Friday, Feb. 10

Time: 6 p.m.

Home Team: Abilene High

Visiting Team:Haltom High

Ten BISD students named 2017 All-State Musicians


Congratulations to Birdville ISD’s 2017 Texas All-State Musicians! Each of these 10 high school band and choir students survived up to four rounds of auditions to be selected as an All-State musician. These students will rehearse and perform at the Texas Music Educators Association Convention in San Antonio in February.

2017 All-State Musicians:

Haltom HS:  Ian Bassham (Alto Saxophone)

Richland HS:  Jake Buckner (French Horn), Daniel Christensen (Trumpet),and John MacDonald (Trombone)

Birdville HS:  Faith Adams (Soprano 1), Hannah Detrick (Soprano 1), Reece Neathery (Trombone), Evan Pallanes (Contra Bass Clarinet), Julian Shannon (Jazz Trombone), and Jonathan Shier (Jazz Trumpet)

2017 High School Musicals



Birdville HS Fine Arts Department


Mary Poppins

January 19-21 @ 7 p.m.

January 22 @ 2:30 p.m.

Birdville HS Auditorium

One of the most popular Disney movies of all time as a live musical by Disney and Cameron Mackintosh, and music composed by Richard M. Sherman, Robert B. Sherman and Julian Fellowes!  Bert, the jack-of-all trades, introduces us to England in 1910 and the troubled Banks family. Young Jane and Michael have sent many a nanny packing before Mary Poppins arrives on their doorstep. Using a combination of magic and common sense, she must teach the family members how to value each other again.


Haltom HS Fine Arts Department


Damn Yankees

January 21 & 23 @ 7 p.m.

January 22 @ 3 p.m.

Haltom HS Auditorium

A musical based on the novel “The Year the Yankees Lost the Pennant” by Douglass Wallop. Joe Boyd sells his soul to the devil, Mr. Applegate, for “one good Long ball hitter” for his team, the Washington Senators. Mr. Applegate grants his wish, turning him into a 22-year-old sports superstar who must go back to his wife before 9 p.m. on the final game day if he doesn’t want Mr. Applegate to get his soul.


Richland HS Fine Arts Department



January 21 & 23 @ 7 p.m.

January 22 @ 2 p.m.

Richland HS Auditorium

A musical by Stephen Schwartz based on the Gospel according to St. Matthew.  A small group of people help Jesus tell different parables by using a wide variety of games, storytelling techniques and hefty doses of comic timing. An eclectic blend of songs, ranging in style from pop to vaudeville, is employed as the story of Jesus’ life dances across the stage. Dissolving hauntingly into the Last Supper and the Crucifixion, Jesus’ messages of kindness, tolerance and love come vibrantly to life.

Congratulations to the 2016 Birdville ISD All-District Football Selections


Birdville High School

First Team

Offensive Tackle – Jared Hocker

Free Safety – Derrius Franklin


Second Team

Offensive Guard – Trevor Shelton

Running Back – Isaiah Weatherspoon

Cornerback – Markael Gray

Wide Receiver – Xavier Beasley

Wide Receiver – Dillon Sterling

Defensive End – J.R. Lopez

Linebacker – Hunter Wageneck


Honorable Mention

Defensive End – Jeremy Stevenson

Defensive Lineman – Colton Brandt

Wide Receiver – Colby Feris

Linebacker – Chris Cadman

Linebacker – Andrew Rangel

Quarterback – Clayton Beeter


Haltom High School

First Team

Running Back – JQ Reed

Linebacker – Gavin Ricks

Wide Receiver – Braiden Harris

Defensive Line – Jaylan Davis

Fullback/Tight End – Taylor Lunkwitz


Second Team

Linebacker – Zacc Smith

Wide Receiver – Imiee Cooksey

Defensive Back – Jeffon Evans

Linebacker – Christopher Skinner

Defensive Back – Bradley Coker

Defensive Line – Brian Duran

Offensive Line – Jordan Ordaz


Honorable Mention

Defensive Back – Austin Cooksey

Quarterback – Cole Hays

Wide Receiver – Jacob Martinez

Defensive Back – Quenton Banks

Offensive Line – Kevin Ixpanel

Defensive Line – Braden Webb


Richland High School

Offensive MVP – Trey Self

Special Teams MVP – Shamar Johnson

Defensive Sophomore of Year – Ja’cory Ashley


First Team

Running Back – Rylee Johnson

Wide Receiver – Landon Le

Offensive Tackle – Jacob Young

Offensive Guard – Jaiden Rubio

Center – Isaac Torres

Defensive End – Antonio Burkhalter

Defensive Tackle – Chance Garner

Linebacker – Dashaun White

Linebacker – Howard Clay


Second Team

Wide Receiver – Rashee Rice

Tight End  – Caleb Wells

Offensive Tackle – Parker Shinsky

Offensive Guard – Manny Zamora-Richland

Defensive End – Zach Ramos

Defensive Tackle – Christian Garner

Linebacker – Larry Nixon

Safety – Kyle Itoka

Corner Back – James Evans

Kicker – Camden Lyons


Honorable Mention

Wide Receiver – Brett Bostick

Defensive End – Nate Graves

Safety – Aal Gray

Corner Back – Mekhi Jamison

Defensive Tackle – Dylan Pinkston

Wide Receiver – Kenneth Reeves